62nd Motion Pictures Sound Editors (MPSE) Golden Reel Awards Nominees Announced

January 15, 2015 12:44am

Birdman and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes lead the features competing at the 62nd Motion Pictures Sound Editors (MPSE) Golden Reel Awards, which will be handed out Feb. 15 at the Westin Bonaventure.

Their sound editing teams received three nominations apiece, in the categories for dialogue/ADR, effects/foley and music. Close behind with two nominations each were the sound editing teams for Interstellar, Guardians of the Galaxy, Unbroken and Whiplash. As previously announced, during the ceremony Darren Aronofsky will receive the MPSE FIlmmaker Award and Skip Lievsay the Career Achievement Award.

The Golden Reel Awards recognize sound editing in 20 categories for feature films, television, animation, computer entertainment and student work.

Feature Film Nominations:

Television Nominations:

Other Category Nominations:

Darren Aronofsky | 2015 Filmmaker Award

Academy Award®-nominated director, Darren Aronofsky, was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. His most recent film Noah was released to critical acclaim in March 2014 and grossed $359.2 million worldwide. Starring Russell Crowe, Anthony Hopkins, Jennifer Connelly, and Emma Watson, it is an adaptation of the story of Noah’s ark, which Richard Roeper called, “one of the most dazzling and unforgettable Biblical epics ever put on film.” Aronofsky also directed Black Swan, which won Natalie Portman the Academy Award for Best Actress and received four other nominations, including one for Best Picture. It was also a box office phenomenon grossing $328M worldwide. In 2008, he directed The Wrestler, which premiered at the Venice Film Festival where it won the esteemed Golden Lion making it only the third American film in history to win this grand prize. The film garnered Academy Award nominations for both Mickey Rourke and Marisa Tomei, and won Golden Globes for Mickey for his iconic performance and Bruce Springsteen for his original track “The Wrestler.” Aronofsky’s earlier credits include the acclaimed films The Fountain, Requiem For A Dream, and π.