MPSE Unveils Winners at 63rd Golden Reel Awards

March 02, 2016 12:46am

he Motion Picture Sound Editors presented the 63rd MPSE Golden Reel Awards at a black-tie ceremony at the Bonaventure Hotel in Los Angeles. Golden Reel Awards recognizing outstanding achievement in sound editing were presented in 24 categories encompassing feature films, long-form and short-form television, animation, documentaries and other media. Re-Recording Mixer Marti Humphrey and Sound Designer/Supervising Sound Editor Jussi Tegelman presented the annual MPSE Filmmaker Award to Director Sam Raimi. Picture Editor Lee Smith and Re-Recording Mixer Doug Hemphill presented the Career Achievement Award to Supervising Sound Editor and Sound Designer Richard King.

Opening addresses were given by outgoing MPSE president Frank Morrone and incoming president Tom McCarthy.

“Tonight we honor not only nominees and winners but the whole sound editing community, the men and women who work tirelessly to create the sonic landscapes we hear in cinemas, our home theaters, our tablets and our ear buds,” Morrone said. “Celebrating the art of sound editing has been the mission of the MPSE since 1953.”

Presenters included Producer Ra’uf Glasgow, Actress Briana Brown, Supervising Sound Editor Alan Murray, Actress Julia Parker, Actor Joe Spano, Producer Andrew Sugarman, Supervising Sound Editor Cameron Frankley, Warner Bros. Executive Bill Angorola, Music Editor Thomas Milano and Production Sound Editor and CAS President Mark Ulano.