The Sound of Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs

Shot on location at Skywalker Sound, supervising sound designer/mixer Randy Thom talks about his process and approach for Ice Age 3: Dawn of the Dinosaurs in this exclusive interview.


After the events of "Ice Age: The Meltdown", life begins to change for Manny and his friends: Scrat is still on the hunt to hold onto his beloved acorn, while finding a possible romance in a female sabre-toothed squirrel named Scratte. Manny and Ellie, having since become an item, are expecting a baby, which leaves Manny anxious to ensure that everything is perfect for when his baby arrives. Diego is fed up with being treated like a house-cat and ponders the notion that he is becoming too laid-back. Sid begins to wish for a family of his own, and so steals some dinosaur eggs which leads to Sid ending up in a strange underground world where his herd must rescue him, while dodging dinosaurs and facing danger left and right, and meeting up with a one-eyed weasel known as Buck who hunts dinosaurs intently.

Sound Credits

Colette Dahanne Sound Effects Editor
Colette Dahanne Sound Re Recording Mixer
Sean England Foley Mixer
Andre Fenley Sound Effects Editor
Doug Ford Engineering Support
Sue Fox Foley Editor (As Suzanne Fox)
Josh Gold Assistant Supervising Sound Editor
Jeff Gomillion Adr Mixer
Rick Gould Adr Recordist
Lora Hirschberg Sound Re Recording Mixer
Richard Hymns Adr Editor
Mark Kenna Sound Consultant: Dolby (Foreign Language Versions)
Roy Latham Original Dialogue Mixer
Leff Lefferts Assistant Supervising Sound Editor
Scott R. Lewis Sound Mix Technician
Kyrsten Mate Sound Effects Editor (As Krysten Mate)
Peter Mendonca Adr Recordist
Beatrice Miller Adr Loop Group
Regan Mizrahi Adr Loop Group
Cheryl Nardi Dialogue Editor
Larry Oatfield Foley Editor (As E. Larry Oatfield)
Frank Rinella Foley Mixer
Philip Rogers Adr Recordist
Ronald G. Roumas Sound Re Recordist
Brian Seagrave Audio Post Conform
Randy Thom Sound Re Recording Mixer
Randy Thom Supervising Sound Designer
Dennie Thorpe Foley Artist (As Denise Thorpe)
Jana Vance Foley Artist
Marshall Winn Adr Editor
Gwendolyn Yates Whittle Supervising Sound Editor
Angie Yesson Sound Recordist
Peter Gleaves Adr Mixer (Uncredited)
John Soukup Sound Transfer (Uncredited)