The Sound of Invictus

Director Clint Eastwood reunites with his longtime collaborators Supervising Sound Editor Alan Robert Murray and Sound Re-Recording Mixer Gregg Rudloff. In this profile the sound team discuss the challenges and unique sound opportunities that take the audience on location to Cape Town and Johannesburg, South Africa.


From director Clint Eastwood, "Invictus" tells the inspiring true story of how Nelson Mandela (Morgan Freeman) joined forces with the captain of South Africa's rugby team, Francois Pienaar (Matt Damon), to help unite their country. Newly elected President Mandela knows his nation remains racially and economically divided in the wake of apartheid. Believing he can bring his people together through the universal language of sport, Mandela rallies South Africa's underdog rugby team as they make an unlikely run to the 1995 World Cup Championship match. Warner Bros. Pictures presents, in association with Spyglass Entertainment, a Revelations Entertainment / Mace Neufeld production, a Malpaso production, "Invictus," starring OscarĀ® winners Morgan Freeman ("Million Dollar Baby," "The Dark Knight") and Matt Damon ("Good Will Hunting," the "Bourne" franchise). The film is produced by Eastwood, Lori McCreary, Robert Lorenz and Mace Neufeld. The screenplay is by Anthony Peckham, based upon the book Playing the Enemy, by John Carlin. Freeman, Tim Moore, Gary Barber and Roger Birnbaum are the executive producers. Behind the scenes, Eastwood reunited with many of his longtime collaborators, including director of photography Tom Stern, production designer James J. Murakami, editors Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach, and costume designer Deborah Hopper. The music is by Kyle Eastwood and Michael Stevens. Filming on "Invictus" was accomplished entirely on location in and around the cities of Cape Town and Johannesburg, South Africa.

Sound Credits

James Ashwill Foley Mixer
Bub Asman Supervising Sound Editor
Michael Botha Adr Mixer
William Cawley Assistant Sound Editor (As Bill Cawley)
Hayden Collow Sound Effects Mixer: Location
John T. Cucci Foley Artist (As John Cucci)
Scott Curtis Foley Editor
Flash Deros Boom Operator
Barry Donnelly Adr Mixer
Michael Dressel Supervising Foley Editor
Richard Duarte Foley Mixer
Juno J. Ellis Supervising Adr Editor
David Farmer Sound Designer
John P. Fasal Sound Effects Mixer: Location (As John Paul Fasal)
Christopher Flick Foley Editor
Jason King Sound Effects Editor
Jonathan Klein Foley Editor
Nicholas Vincent Korda Adr Editor (As Nicholas V. Korda)
Walt Martin Sound Mixer
Ryan Murphy Sound Mix Technician
Alan Robert Murray Supervising Sound Editor
Kevin Murray Assistant Sound Editor (As Kevin R.W. Murray)
Rupert Nadeau Adr Assistant
Stefanie Ng Sound Effects Mixer: Location
Dan O'Connell Foley Artist
Thomas J. O'Connell Adr Mixer
Jacques Pienaar Cable Person
Tony Pilkington Sound Re Recording Engineer
John T. Reitz Sound Re Recording Mixer (As John Reitz)
Kira Roessler Dialogue Editor
Gregg Rudloff Sound Re Recording Mixer
Curt Schulkey Dialogue Editor (As Curt Shulkey)
Brian Seagrave Audio Post Conform
Chris Ward Sound Effects Mixer: Location
Bryan O. Watkins Sound Effects Editor (As Bryan Watkins)
Hugo Weng Dialogue Editor
Byron Wilson Dialogue Editor
Katy Wood Supervising Dialogue Editor
Ryan Davis Additional Sound Re Recording Mixer (Uncredited)
Andy Potvin Sound Consultant: Dolby (Uncredited)
Philip Young Adr Recordist (Uncredited)
Ryan Young Adr Recordist (Uncredited)