The Sound and Music of Metallica: Through the Never

In this exclusive SoundWorks Collection video we talk with the sound and music team behind Director Nimród Antal's, Metallica Through the Never, a groundbreaking music-driven 3-D motion picture event. Interviews include Re-recording Mixer Jeff Haboush, Re-recording Mixer Rick Kline, Sound Designer Mark Mangini, Music Producer Greg Fidelman, and Supervising Music Mixer Joseph Magee.


The film combines a spectacular never-before-seen live-performance by Metallica created exclusively for the film and a suspenseful narrative to produce a bracing, raw and visceral cinematic experience.

Emerging young star Dane DeHaan (A Place Beyond the Pines, Kill Your Darlings, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 & 3) portrays Trip, a young roadie sent on an urgent mission that turns into a surreal adventure, while Metallica performs its most iconic songs during a roaring live set in front of a sold-out arena.

Metallica Through the Never features the most elaborate live-performance stage ever built and was filmed with state-of-the-art 3-D photography captured using up to 24 cameras simultaneously. Metallica, one of the most popular and influential rock bands in history, is James Hetfield (vocals, guitar), Lars Ulrich (drums), Kirk Hammett (guitar, background vocals) and Robert Trujillo (bass, background vocals). The film is written and directed by award-winning filmmaker Nimród Antal (Predator, Kontroll) and produced by Charlotte Huggins (Journey to the Center of the Earth).

The film will be released by Picturehouse in North America on September 27, 2013, exclusively in over 300 IMAX® 3D Theatres, and will expand into additional theaters on October 4, 2013. The film is rated R. Running time is 92 minutes.

Sound Credits

Jeffrey J. Haboush Sound Re Recording Mixer
Chris Higgins Boom Operator
David Husby Production Sound Mixer
Rick Kline Sound Re Recording Mixer
Goro Koyama Foley Artist
Andy Malcolm Foley Artist
Mark A. Mangini Sound Designer
Chris Navarro Adr Mixer
John Sawa Sound Mixer
Don White Foley Recording Mixer
David A. Whittaker Sound Effects Editor
Matthew Zipkin Adr Recordist